Data in progress. At least one of this candidate's filings is still being processed or is held back pending review. Its contributions aren't counted in the totals until it clears. The filing history below shows each filing's status, with a link to the source document.

JB Smiley

Shelby County Mayor Democratic

Choose financial history for JB Smiley
Current · 2026 & 2027
1 earlier entry
Memphis City Council, Dist. 8, Pos. 1

Also ran for Governor on Who Funds Tennessee

Latest filing: Year-End 2025 · Sep 2, 2026 · source: Shelby County

5 filings · Mid-Year 2025–Q2 2026

Cash on Hand The campaign’s ending cash balance from its most recent filing. Cash shown as “carried over” was held before this election cycle began — usually from a prior campaign for the same office. Full definition →
$330,100
Raised (cash) Cash and cash-like receipts the campaign took in: contributions, the candidate’s own money, loans, and transfers from affiliated committees. Donated goods and services appear separately. Full definition →
$537,338
includes $3,215 in small gifts the filer reported as a lump sum
Total Spent
$207,241
Donors
1,112
total donors; qualifying names are listed below
Self-Funded
0.4%
$1,995 of $537,338 raised · self-contributions
Out-of-State
14%
$77,039 from outside TN

Cash on hand is the amount reported on the filing listed below.

Show formula

The ending cash balance the campaign reported on its most recent filing (as filed, not computed).

Reported on this filing:

Raised (cash) adds together the amounts listed below.

Show formula

Sum of every cash receipt bucket: itemized contributions from others + the candidate's own contributions + loans + filer-stated unitemized + (federal) transfers and other receipts.

Inputs behind Raised (cash)
Itemized contributions from others $532,128
Candidate's own contributions $1,995
Unitemized contributions (filer-stated lump sum) $3,215
Raised (cash) $537,338
From each filing:
  • Year-End 2025 Amendment $224,652 mixed
    • Itemized contributions from others $223,064 derived
    • Candidate's own contributions $338 derived
    • Unitemized contributions (filer-stated lump sum) $1,250 filing-stated
  • Mid-Year 2025 Amendment $312,686 mixed
    • Itemized contributions from others $309,063 derived
    • Candidate's own contributions $1,657 derived
    • Unitemized contributions (filer-stated lump sum) $1,965 filing-stated

Total spent adds together the amounts listed below.

Show formula

Itemized expenditure rows plus the stated spending a filer reported as a lump sum without itemizing it.

Inputs behind Total spent
Itemized expenditures $207,241
Total spent $207,241
From each filing:

Out-of-state share compares itemized money from outside tennessee with raised incl. in-kind.

Show formula

Itemized contributions from a state other than Tennessee, divided by everything the campaign raised (shown only when the state of most itemized money is known — above 99% coverage).

Itemized money from outside Tennessee: $77,039 ÷ Raised incl. in-kind: $537,338
Inputs behind Out-of-state share
From outside Tennessee $77,039
Source filings:

Totals exclude 3 filings pending review (the filer reported $196,146 on them).

Raised incl. in-kind
$537,338
Spent
$207,241

Headline figures, Memphis City Council, Dist. 8, Pos. 1

1 filing · Mid-Year 2025

Net contributions (cash)
$2,733
Total Spent
$3,940
Donors
6

Headline figures, 2023 · Memphis City Council, Dist. 8, Pos. 1

5 filings · Pre-General 2023–Q4 2023

Net contributions (cash)
$16,656
Total Spent
$10,468
Donors
28

Includes $942 net contributions (cash) not itemized below. A further $68,602 net contributions (cash) and $52,029 spent across 3 filings is not counted above — still being checked.

Who funds this campaign The sources split breaks down everything the campaign raised: the candidate’s own money (including self-loans), individuals (including unitemized small gifts), organizations and PACs, and “other” (in-kind contributions, loans other than the candidate’s, and the like) — open its “Why this number?” for the full breakdown. Gift-size and location figures cover itemized contributions only. Aggregates count everyone who gave, including donors below the $200 disclosure floor — a share across all donors identifies no one. Full definition →

The candidate’s own money made up 0.4% of the campaign’s funds — individuals gave 83%, organizations and PACs 17%.

Candidate’s own money $2K · 0.4% Individuals $446K · 83% Organizations & PACs $89K · 17%

Share from the candidate compares from the candidate's own money with everything the campaign raised.

Show formula

Everything the campaign raised, split into the candidate's own money (own contributions plus self- and family loans), individuals, organizations and PACs, and everything else — loans other than the candidate's, in-kind contributions, and (for federal filers) committee transfers and other receipts. Unitemized small donations count as individual money. The parts add up to the total raised. The headline share is the candidate divided by the total.

From the candidate's own money: $1,995 ÷ Everything the campaign raised: $537,338
Inputs behind Share from the candidate
Candidate's own money (incl. self-loans) $1,995
From individuals $446,461
From organizations and PACs $88,882
Source filings:

Gift size Each individual donor’s total giving to this campaign this cycle. Organizations, PACs, and the candidate’s own money are excluded (this is about people); a donor who gave under several name spellings is counted once. A donor named on the page can still sit in a small bucket — these are cycle totals, not “unnamed donors.” Full definition →

$431average gift
$200median gift
1,029individual donors
Share of donors Share of dollars
Under $100
26%
2%
$100–200
23%
6%
$200–500
24%
15%
$500–1K
13%
17%
$1K+
13%
59%

Average gift per individual donor compares total from individual donors with individual donors.

Show formula

Every individual donor's total contributions to this campaign, divided by the number of individual donors. Organizations and PACs are excluded (this measures people); a donor who gave under several name spellings is counted once. The median and the gift-size buckets are computed over the same individual-donor totals. Based on itemized contributions only (loans and money a filer reported as an unitemized lump sum are not included).

Total from individual donors: $443,246 ÷ Individual donors: 1029
Inputs behind Average gift per individual donor
Total from individual donors $443,246
Median gift $200
Individual donors 1029
Source filings:

Where the money comes from Shares of itemized dollars, by the contributor’s state and city as filed. A city is named only when at least 5 donors gave from it or it holds at least 5% of the located dollars; everyone else is grouped into “elsewhere.” Shown only when at least 80% of dollars carry a usable state. Full definition →

86% of located dollars came from within Tennessee (14% from out of state).

Tennessee $455,089 Out of state $77,039
  • Memphis $278K52%
  • Collierville $57K11%
  • Cordova $25K5%
  • Bartlett $18K3%
  • Germantown $15K3%
  • Elsewhere in Tennessee $63K
  • Other out-of-state $77K

Out-of-state share of located dollars compares itemized money from outside tennessee with itemized money with a known state.

Show formula

Itemized contribution dollars from outside Tennessee, divided by all itemized dollars whose contributor state is known. A city is named only when at least 5 donors gave from it OR it holds at least 5% of the located dollars; everyone else is grouped into elsewhere-in-Tennessee and other-out-of-state. Shown only above 99% state coverage. Based on itemized contributions only (loans and money a filer reported as an unitemized lump sum are not included).

Itemized money from outside Tennessee: $77,039 ÷ Itemized money with a known state: $532,128
Inputs behind Out-of-state share of located dollars
From outside Tennessee $77,039
Source filings:

Contributions & Spending Over Time

Itemized monetary contributions and expenditures by month — Jan 2025 – Jan 2026. Peak $76,093 in Feb 2025. Spending peaked at $48,204 in May 2025.

Cash contributions Spent

Contributions

The donor total above includes everyone who gave. This table names 605 donors: organizations, and people whose cumulative giving reached $200. 509 people gave less than $200 in cash; their gifts total $38,359 and their names are withheld.

605 named donors 1,141 donations

Campaign contributions consolidated by donor, ranked by net amount
Donor Donations Net
American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees Local 1733 (AFSCME) 1 $10,100.00
Bahroz Cotardia 6 $8,200.00
Craig and Cathy Weiss 2 $7,200.00
Fa & Monica Q. Fan 4 $5,000.00
Metropolitan Memphis Hotel Lodging Association 1 $5,000.00
Memphis Police Association PAC 1 $5,000.00
Jackie Smiley 9 $4,814.90
Jarad Bingham 4 $3,933.65
Badruddin Kheraj 3 $3,933.25
Elez Corpration 3 $3,933.25

Expenditures

105 vendors 236 payments

Campaign payments consolidated by vendor, ranked by total
Vendor Payments Total Share
ADP 36 $100,313.92 48%
Jefferson Court 13 $18,445.00 9%
NGP VAN 4 $11,194.50 5%
Target Marketing ↺ donor $500.00 1 $10,000.00 5%
Public Service Partners 1 $5,515.23 3%
Superior Cleaners 3 $5,300.00 3%
Lynn Williams ↺ donor $2,180.00 4 $4,050.00 2%
Ace's Kitchen 3 $3,647.75 2%
SlickText 10 $3,175.76 2%
Tennessee Democratic Party 4 $3,018.41 1%

Where the money went Each expenditure carries a short description of what it was for, written by the campaign. We sort those descriptions into a fixed set of categories; one expenditure goes in one category, so the amounts add up to JB Smiley’s itemized spending. Descriptions that don’t clearly fit a category are counted under Other rather than guessed at.

  • Staff & payroll $100,572 49%
  • Office & operations $33,783 16%
  • Consulting & professional services $19,240 9%
  • Fundraising & events $16,725 8%
  • Other $14,854 7%
  • Advertising & media $14,580 7%
  • Printing & mail $6,127 3%
  • Contributions & donations $1,050 0.6%
  • Field & voter contact $200 0.1%
  • Travel $110 0.1%

Other 2027 campaigns

Memphis City Council, Dist. 8, Pos. 1

Net contributions (cash) $2,733 · Spent $3,940 · 6 donors

1 filing · Mid-Year 2025

Memphis City Council, Dist. 8, Pos. 1 contributions
Donor Location Employer Total
Keith Dunn Clark, NJ 07066 Clark Police Department $1,439.70
Ruby Cooper Cordova, TN 38018 Retired $719.70
Justin Bailey Germantown, TN 38139 Not Employed $479.70
Memphis City Council, Dist. 8, Pos. 1 expenditures
Payee Purpose Amount Date
Google Google $25.59 06/02/2025
Unknown Bank Fee $5.00 06/02/2025
Unknown Transfer of Funds - Wrong Acct $19.06 05/30/2025
Unknown Coffee for Team $14.58 05/22/2025
Unknown Transfer of Funds - Wrong Acct $30.00 05/09/2025
Unknown Transfer of Funds - Wrong Acct $500.00 05/07/2025
Google Google $22.90 05/02/2025
Facebook Facebook $29.91 05/01/2025
Unknown Bank Fee $5.00 05/01/2025
Unknown Web Hosting $69.12 04/22/2025
13 more expenditures not shown

Financial history 1 entries

2023 · Memphis City Council, Dist. 8, Pos. 1

Net contributions (cash) $16,656 · Spent $10,468 · 28 donors

5 filings · Pre-General 2023–Q4 2023

Includes $942 net contributions (cash) not itemized below. A further $68,602 net contributions (cash) and $52,029 spent across 3 filings is not counted above — still being checked.

2023 election contributions
Donor Location Employer Total
Chris Farinas Secaucus, NJ 07094 Arts Weekly Inc $1,727.70
Michael Keeney Memphis, TN 38120 Lewis Thomason $1,727.70
Keith Dunn Clark, NJ 07066 Clark Police Department $1,727.70
Chance Carlisle Memphis, TN 38117 Self-Employed $1,727.70
William Orgel Memphis, TN 38120 Tower Ventures $1,535.70
Evans Petree PAC Memphis, TN 38120 — $1,000.00
Benjamin Orgel Memphis, TN 38120 Tower Ventures $959.70
Jack Sammons Memphis, TN 38111 FedEx $959.70
Kevin Adams Memphis, TN 38111 Big River Development Co $959.70
Andre Dean Cordova, TN 38018 Dean & Associates $479.70
10 more donors not shown
2023 election expenditures
Payee Purpose Amount Date
Active Campaign Email/Text Messages $635.11 09/29/2023
Kathryn Winsley Reimbursement $125.00 09/28/2023
Dorse and Associates Consulting $150.00 09/27/2023
Sway Marketting/Advertising/Editing $4,000.00 09/27/2023
Restaurant Food/Entertainment $75.64 09/27/2023
Marriot Travel $318.62 03/31/2023
Farmers Food / Entertainment $140.67 03/30/2023
Lydia Food / Entertainment $166.14 03/30/2023
(payee not stated) Travel $137.20 03/29/2023
(payee not stated) Food/Entertainement $239.45 03/29/2023
19 more expenditures not shown

Filing History

Two overdue reports filed together on September 2, 2026.

Campaign filing history
Filing Cash Beginning Cash Ending Source
Q2 2026 Detail pending review — — Source: Q2 2026 filing
Pre-Primary 2026 Detail pending review — — Source: Pre-Primary 2026 filing
Q1 2026 Detail pending review — — Source: Q1 2026 filing
Year-End 2025 Amended $171,171.18 $330,100.17 Source: Year-End 2025 filing
Mid-Year 2025 Amended $0.00 $171,171.18 Source: Mid-Year 2025 filing